I was surprised to be able to take this photo 20 ft from the hammering Woodpecker

Select this link to see photos or a slideshow of the Pileated Woodpecker

I heard this loud chopping sound in some pine woods. On closer observation I saw this red head oscillating back and forth making a large hole. It was about 50 ft up in the tree, and was shaded, and paid no attention to me as I tried to get a photo. It then went from tree to tree hammering away. Later in the day I heard it again and found it at near ground level. The lighting was slightly better, so I tried to get a photo as soon as I could. I kept moving in closer until I was about 20 ft away with the Woodpecker hammering away and oblivious to me. The head was bobbing so fast, and the noise so loud, that it was still hard to get a good photo.